Home Forum Joining Contact Links News Articles Gallery Members
Discovery Owners Club
Home Forum Joining Contact Links News Articles Gallery Members
It is currently Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:29 pm

Discovery Owners Club

Have YOUR say on the DOC forum...

  • Advertisement
Noel Dazely Insurance

Annual General Meeting 2006

DOC and general Land Rover news and information - updated regularly by the Publicity Officer

Moderator: Committee

User avatar
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 2:39 pm
Location: Southampton, Hampshire, GB
Membership Number: 89
Full name: Stefan Tapp

Annual General Meeting 2006

Post by stefan » Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:42 am

Following the Discovery Owners Club AGM on the 25th March 2006 kindly hosted by the NFU at their headquarters at Stratford-Upon-Avon, the Discovery Owners Club is pleased to announce the following changes to the committee.

Most members of the committee were re-elected for position, the only position which had more than one nomination was that of Chairman. The previous chairman, Peter Greenway and member Lee Jones stood, Peter Greenway was voted back in with a huge majority. A trio of new committee positions were required this year. Due to the Clubs change of ALRC status to competitive, the position of Competition Secretary was required which was suitably filled by one of the Clubs? long standing and respected members, Darren Burgess. A second position was created for a Rights Of Way Officer as the Club is increasingly becoming involved in green lane maintenance in association with GLASS, LARA and other enthusiast clubs, and continually promotes responsible use of Public Rights Of Way. Michael Enderby was welcomed to this position. Finally a new position of Camping and Caravanning Officer is taken up by James Wood.

Gary Patterson takes over the role of Events Co-ordinator from Malcolm Bourne, Jon Hunt moved to the role of Membership Secretary late last year, taking over from Lee Jones and Jons? previous duty as Club Shop/Merchandising Officer was filled by Debbie White and the Assistant Club Shop Officer is Val Francis. The remainder of the committee consists of, Paul Walker - Vice Chairman, Alan Smart ? Club Secretary, John Francis ? Treasurer, Press & Publicity Officer ? Stefan Tapp, Publications Officer/Discourse Editor ? Kris Wilcox with her assistant Roger Spencer, Internet Officer ? Sean Butler-Lee and Club President ? John Capewell. The committee now combines between them over 99 years of land Rover ownership and over 83 years of motor club experience!

A new feature of the Club this year will be an assistance register managed by John Francis and Bill Jones. This will be a contact list of members who are willing to provide support to fellow members, from tea and sympathy to a tow out from the mud!

2005 was a fantastic year for the Club, membership currently exceeds 900 and the Club is undisputedly on the way to becoming (if not already!) the largest single marque ALRC club in the UK!

Many more major companies partnered with the Club last year offering Club members great discounts on parts, servicing and insurance.

The Club this year sees its first national event in June and with an increase in local sections, even more fun packed local meets than last year!

The Club magazine Discourse, along with the website and forum go from strength to strength and the Club is the definitive place to go for all things Discovery!

Stefan Tapp
Previously a 2001 4.0 V8 Discovery ES Premium
1988 200 Tdi Discovery Powered 90, 2" suspension lift, castor corrected radius arms, polybush orange bush kit, raised air intake, steering and diff guards, black chequer plate full bonnet and wing kit


Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Advertisement
Adrian Flux Insurance